ARMM Regional Profile

ARMM Regional Profile

The province of Maguindanao can be divided into two physiographic units. There are the southwest cluster and Maguindanao lowland. The southwest mountain clusters include the two big groups of mountain elevation: Binace and Bilit. They are separated by the valley of MTUGAR RIVER which flow northwest into Moro Gulf and Liwasid River which flow into the Mindanao Sea. The Maguindanao lowland includes the north extremity of Cotabato basin northeast of the provincial highlands. The area is generally sloping from the foot of hills to relatively flat as it approaches the sea and materials derived from the weathering and erosion of adjacent emergent land mass.

The biggest and longest river in Mindanao is the Rio Grande de Mindanao. The northeast boundary of the province and as much the west banks are within the province, jurisdiction.

This river meanders with flood rains developed at place together with extensive delta, which makes it immediate vicinity marshy. It drains westward into the Mindanao Sea. Several smaller streams and creeks are perennial type while the rest are intermittent.

The province falls under Type IV characterized by more or less even distribution of rainfall throughout the year. Its climate is comfortable. The average temperature range  from 25.9 degree centigrade to 26.5 degree centigrade. The coldest months are from November to January.
The soil of the province is classified into various types according to land forms and landscapes. There are various broad landform types based on topography, location, elevation and morphology like plains, hills and mountains.

Agricultural areas :  154,708 has.
Expansion areas : 75,575 has.
Rehabilitation areas :  89,181 has.
Preservation areas  : 96,727 has.
Wetland areas  : 293 has.
Misc. areas  : 16,276 has.
Total :  504,760 has.
Climate:  Type IV- characterized by rainfalls are evenly distributed throughout the year
Temperature - 25 degree celcius
Annual rainfall 1,200 mm

Generally, the topography of the provinces is 60% rolling and 40% plain. It is gifted with enormous water bodies with Lake Lanao as the biggest. Among its big rivers are those of Masiu, Taraka, Rugnan, Ramain, and Lalabuan. There are also other smaller rivers which could be tapped for irrigation purpose.

The climate of the province is classified as Type IV which is characterized by more or less even distribution of rainfall throughout the year. Dry season is observed during the months from January to March and maximum rain period is from May to October.

The mean temperature of the province is from 21 to 27 degree centigrade.

The soil type   prevailing in the province are silt, loam and Las Catellanas Complex. Specifically, the municipalities of Masiu, Butig Lumbutan, Lumbayanague, Bayang, Binidayan, Gannassi, Pualas, Sultan Gumander, Malabang, Calanugas, Marogong, Balabagan, Kapatagan, Wao, Bumbaran, Madalum and Madamba have silt loam soil type. The clay loam soil type are found in the municipalities of Ramain, Bubong, Buadipuso-Buntong, Mulundo, Taraka, Tamparan, Poona Bayabao, Lumba Bayabao, and Maguing. Adtaya clay loam soil type is prevalent in the Municipalities of Saguiaran, Piagapo, Tugaya, Balindong and Bacolod Grande, the soil type is La Castellana Complex.

Agricultural areas  : 42,153 has.
Expansion areas  : 54,403 has.
Rehabilitation areas :  55,508 has.
Preservation areas :  226,503 has.
Wetland areas :  2,515 has.
Misc areas :  6,208 has.
Total  : 387,289 has.
Climate: Type IV Temperature  21 degree C to 27 degree C
Annual Rainfall: 2,250 mm

The Sulu archipelago is marked by a number of mountain ranges that traverse the mid-section of the island of Jolo from east to west. The mountain chain includes Mt. Tumantangis, about 812 ft., Mt. Pula, about 281 ft., Mt. Kangangan about 663 ft. and Mt. Datu with 100 ft. Siasi Island is also hilly. The other islands, such as Pangutaran are coral formation resulting to low, swampy, flat and forested areas. However, numerous palces around the reef-sorrounded island afford anchorages.
The province of Sulu, being known for its shining land and moody sea lies on the southernmost part of the Philippines, with islands of varying terrains, which source is of volcanic origin while others are from coral formation with low, forested and swampy areas.

Total land area :  160,040 has.
Agricultural areas  : 92,165 has.
Expansion areas :  9,227 has.
Rehabilitation  areas :  30,201 has.
Preservation  areas  : 2,552 has.
Wetland  areas : 24,048 has.
Misc.  areas : 1,847 has.
Annual  Rainfall :  2,000 mm

The Tawi-Tawi archipelago is comprised of islands settled on top of a huge sea mountain. Among the islands, Tawi-Tawi has the least rugged relief. Its major peaks which include Mt. Datu Sali, St. Sitangkai and Mt. Baluk Sampan do not go beyond 600 ft. These peaks but across the main island Tawi-Tawi from north to south.

There are two rivers in the area-the Malum and Luuk. Malum is the biggest river. It serves as the transporatation passage of the residents in the upper area and also a drainage. It originates from Mt. Bulungan, Mt. Binwang and Mt. Datu Sali and flows Southwesterly receiving Magsagao Stream and its boundary.

Underground water in the islands of South Ubian, Tandubas, Sapa-Sapa, Bongao, Simunul, Sitangkai and Turtle islands is impossible since these islands are rocky. The municipalities of Languyan, balimbing, Panglima Sugala, and Cagayan de Tawi-Tawi have their own underground water table because these areas have a great volume of soil and watershed that can hold water for many years.
The climate of the province except for the municipalities of South Ubian and Sibutu Island belongs to type 1  with maximum rainfall from May to August.

 Agricultural areas :  32,320 has.
 Expansion areas  : 20,150 has.
Rehabilitation areas  : 10,854 has.
Preservation areas :  25,337 has.
Wetland areas . : 19,131 has.
 Misc areas  : 948 has.
Total : 108,740 has.
Annual Rainfall  1,900 mm.

The province of Basilan occupies a total land area of 2,217.8 square kilometers. The terrain ranges from undulating to rolling and becomes moderately steep towards the interior of the province. About 70% of the land is devoted to agriculture and planted extensively with coconuts, rubber and coffee. Other crops includes  palay, corn, cacao, cassava, African oil palm and black pepper. The provincial waters are laden with grouper, tuna, squid, octopus, and marlin. While inland fish ponds are stocked with milkfish, prawns and shrimps. Basilan has the only lobster fattening and culture operations in the region. Local road networks is 865  kilometers that links all barangays and municipalities and about 50% of the roads are categorized as all weather roads. The province has 3 government banks, 2 commercial and 1 rural banks.

The investment opportunities in Basilan revolve around the agricultural and marine resources. Production and processing of rubber, coconuts, coffee and marine products ranks high based on product market mix. Also manufacturer of rubber wood products, such as furniture , tiles, gloves, conveyor belts and latex.

Download a copy of ARMM's Regional Profile.